Awake Nightdreaming

Tonight, instead of reading for my class tomorrow, I tried to find reconciling churches near me that are LGBT+ affirming and have women in leadership. The results are scarce and few, with the few being Lutheran churches or United Methodist Churches. While there’s nothing wrong with those denominations, I personally am not a huge fan of the liturgy and the robes and stuff.

Which got me thinking: maybe I should go to sem and start a church in the Twin Cities. A welcoming non-denomination church that does local outreach and partners with advocacy groups around the Twin Cities as well as global outreaches.

I could stand at the front of the church with tattooed arms like Nadia Bolz-Weber and talk about how cool it is that God loves us no matter how many times we fuck up. I could sing and play on the worship team and form incredible relationships and heal people in Jesus name and write books in my free time.

Just daydreaming. Or I guess it’s 1:15 a.m., so I’m awake nightdreaming..?

But I mean, who knows. Maybe I’ll look back at this blog post one day and laugh because everything came true, or maybe I’ll laugh because God totally brought me to a different place.

Wherever I go in my life, whatever I do, I know it’ll be for the glory of God and the already but not yet Kingdom of God. And that, my friends, is pretty exciting.

So what’s your dream?

 

**UPDATE: Just read the devotion for today from Love Out Loud – 365 Devotions for Loving God, Loving Yourself, and Loving Others by Joyce Meyer, and I thought I would share it because it is miraculously applicable:

Dream Big

Through skillful and godly Wisdom is a house (a life, a home, a family) built, and by understanding it is established [on a sound and good foundation]. -Proverbs 24:3

I hope you have a dream or vision in your heart for something greater than you are currently experiencing. Ephesians 3:20 tells us that God is able to do exceedingly abundantly above and beyond all that we can hope or ask or think. If we are not thinking, hoping, or asking God for anything, we are cheating ourselves. We need to think big thoughts, hope for big things, and ask for big things. God wants to fill our lives with precious and pleasant things.

I always say I would rather ask God for a lot and get half of it than to ask God for a little and get all of it. However, only an unwise person thinks, dreams, and asks for big things, but fails to realize that an enterprise is built by wise planning.

Dreams for the future are possibilities, but not ‘positivelies.’ They are possible, but they will not positively occur unless we do our part.

I believe there is enormous potential hidden in you, but like an athlete who has gold medal potential, you may have to work hard to see it become a reality. God has given you great dreams and wants to bring them to pass. And if you will diligently do your part, God will help you and do ‘exceedingly abundantly’ more than you could ever ask for or imagine.

Love yourself today: What kinds of big thoughts, big hopes, and big things do you want in your life? What can you do now to start working toward them?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

